Kevin Durant Is the Nicest Person in the NBA

19 10 2010

In a league where most players have bad breath and don’t clip their toenails, Kevin Durant stands out as a kind, soft-spoken young man with a wonderful head on his shoulders. He’s humble and thankful for all his success, arguably the ideal superstar for a league used to brash and arrogant types like Allen Iverson and Stephon Marbury.

Over the summer, the media fell deeply in love with KD as he led his country to gold medals at the World Championships in Turkey, all the while acting like a fine ambassador for the NBA to the rest of the world. So it should come as no surprise that Durant and two Thunder teammates grace the cover of this week’s Sports Illustrated NBA preview issue. Except, instead of being flanked by young guns Russell Westbrook and Jeff Green, OKC’s second- and third-best players, he’s joined by lesser starters Nenad Krstic and Thabo Sefolosha.

Yes, you read that right. At Fanhouse, Chris Tomasson explains the interesting choice of cover athletes:

The magazine wanted Durant to pose for the cover of the Oct. 25 basketball preview issue, which hits newsstands Wednesday. The high-scoring forward said that was fine as long as he was joined on the cover by Sefolosha, a Swiss guard, and Krstic, a Serbian center.

“Yeah, basically I had to say it like that,” Durant said before the Thunder‘s preseason game Tuesday at Denver. […]

“People don’t really know about them too much for some odd reason,” said Durant, who didn’t play against the Nuggets due to Thunder coach Scott Brooks giving him his first game off this preseason. “So it was good to have them in there with me … People don’t really talk about them too much, but they’re playing a role. They’re guys we have to have on this team. So I want everybody to know how much they’re important to us and what great teammates they are. So it was the chance to voice my opinion, and I’m glad Sports Illustrated put them on the cover with me.”

Gosh, Durant sure is a good teammate, wanting to give two lesser-known (and, you know, slightly less effective) teammates a shot at national glory even if it had come at his own expense. He clearly values their contributions to the team as veterans and knows that defense and toughness are part of what make the Thunder such a quality team despite their youth. Either that or he likes to learn interesting facts about Europe. Do we know if Durant wanted to major in European history or international relations before he left Texas?

Of course, while Durant wanted Sefolosha and Krstic involved, they were far from his first choice. Here are five other options that were initially struck down by SI:

  • Two cancer patients whose cats have been stuck in a tree for several hours
  • An elderly couple whose neighbors make too much noise
  • Two homeless people he met on the way to the photoshoot
  • Cole Aldrich and B.J. Mullens
  • LeBron James and Kobe Bryant on a three-person bicycle

It’s that last one that really gets Durant’s goat. If he had his way, every game would end in a tie. That way everyone wins!


Actions

Information

10 responses

21 10 2010
Thursday Bolts – 10.21.10 | Daily Thunder.com

[…] More examples of how super nice KD is. […]

22 04 2017
Lovie

How effective is the Acai be8?vrI&#r217;ye heard bad things about it, about how it’s a scam, but whenever I mention weight loss someone (on the internet) always brings it up and tells me to buy some. Has anyone here used it before?

23 10 2010
Searching for Slava

Such a caring young fellow. He needs to be corrupted, just a little. For the good of the game.

22 11 2010
Dave M, SfS

I’m hardly one to talk, SfS posts coming ever less often. Still, this is one of my favorite reading rooms, please get some new magazines.

28 06 2012
Mcdoald

you’re the greatest NBA player now and you will be remembered the greatest NBA player forever

28 07 2012
Dental Implants Experts in China 2012 - Professors of Dentistry

I think that is among the most vital info for me. And i am satisfied reading your article. But wanna commentary on few basic things, The web site taste is perfect, the articles is actually nice : D. Good task, cheers

21 07 2013
kissimmee bail bonds

Terrific post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic?

I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Many thanks!

21 07 2013
Insurance Claim Jobs

I am regular reader, how are you everybody?

This article posted at this website is actually good.

30 07 2013
risk management jobs

Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for beginner blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate
it.

22 01 2014
dental implants

Hurrah! After all I got a web site from where I know how to genuinely get useful facts regarding my study and knowledge.

Leave a comment